Log in
Log in

Council Members 2021-2023


Dr. Jasmine Pawa

Dr. Pawa is a public health and preventive medicine specialist and family physician based in Toronto.  She works as a public health physician consultant to a range of organizations at local, provincial/territorial, and federal levels. In addition, she provides medical officer of health locum services as Deputy Chief Medical Officer of Health for Nunavut. Her teaching commitments include co-leading the Public Health Theme for undergraduate medical education at the University of Toronto and leading the public health module of the Global Health Education Initiative.

She completed her undergraduate studies (biological sciences and history) and medical school at the University of Alberta before moving to Toronto for the public health residency. She has a master’s degree in health policy obtained in the UK jointly from LSHTM and LSE. Her professional focus is on health policy and health systems - including  the intersection of public health and health care.


Dr. Isabelle Samson


Dr. Karla Gustafson

Dr. Karla Gustafson is a Medical Officer of Health for Calgary Zone of Alberta Health Services and holds a Clinical Associate appointment with the University of Calgary. She has a particular focus in the area of health promotion and equity. She is a Certified Associate in Project Management. Prior to joining Alberta Health Services, Dr. Gustafson received a Bachelor of Science degree in Cellular, Molecular, Microbial Biology, a Master of Biomedical Technology degree, and a Doctor of Medicine degree all from the University of Calgary before completing post graduate medical training in Public Health and Preventive Medicine. In time available outside of medicine and as the “CEO” of her household with two small children, she is an avid golfer.

Resident Representatives

Dr. Angela Silveira

Dr. Samantha Cheuk


Dr. Maulik Baxi


Dr. Catherine Elliott


Dr. Emily Groot


Dr. Eric Young

Past-President &
Ex-Officio Member

Dr. Sandra Allison

Ex-Officio Member

Dr. David Kaiser
Association des Spécialistes en Médecine Préventive du Québec

Ex-Officio Member

Dr. Kathryn Koliaska
Chair, Specialty Committee for Public Health & Preventive Medicine

Ex-Officio Member

Dr. Barry Pakes
Chair, PHPC CPD Committee

Dr. Maulik Baxi, starting January 2024

Ex-Officio Member 

Dr. Jasmine Hasselback
American College of Preventive Medicine

Copyright 2017 - Public Health Physicians of Canada  /  Médecins de santé publique du Canada

Site by Merge Creative Inc.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software